IMC – India meets Classic presents …

… radio shows for Indian (Music) Culture

CH – Raga CDs of the Months (08/2014): Morning Ragas (early + late)… part 2 of 2

Posted by ElJay Arem (IMC OnAir) on August 24, 2014

The correct time of day and night for a performing ragas is one of the centre rules of the raga system. Early morning ragas are performed between 03:00 and 06:00 am. Late morning ragas are performed between 06:00 and 09:00 a.m . The promotion initiative IMC – India meets Classic presents part 1 on 11th August at 04:00 pm EST (10:00 pm CET) broadcasting time.

dates of broadcasting …

part 2: 25th August 2014 –4:00-5:00 pm EST (10-11:00 pm CET) @ Radio RaSA (CH)
part 1: 11th August 2014 – 4:00-5:00 pm EST (10-11:00 pm CET) @ Radio RaSA (CH)
20th July 2014 – 9:00-11:00 a.m. EST (3-5:00 p.m. CET) @ radio multicult.fm (Germany/Berlin)

(premiere: 22nd May 2006 – 03:00 p.m. @ Tide 96.0 FM)
broadcasting plan | streaming (Internet Radio & Mobile Radio) | podCast

That (music)

Bhairav Thaat (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We move forward with part 2 in the time cycle with late morning ragas on 25th August 2014 at 04:00 pm EST (10:00 pm CET) broadcasting time.

Most of the morning ragas bases on the scales of the thaat system “bairav” (Bhairavi (Ahir, Ramkali, Bhupali, Jogiya Bhairav-Bahar …). Bairav means the emotional expression within the raga music to effect stability of mind and seriousity.

In the thaat system and it’s 10 basic scales the morninga ragas are represented strongest. Following the four thaats Bhairav (e.g. Raag Aheer Bhairav), Bhairavi (e.g. Raag Bilaskani Todi), Asaravari and Todi (e.g. Raag Mian-Ki Todi or Gurjari Todi) a tremendous number of morning ragas has been created.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: