IMC – India meets Classic presents …

… radio shows for Indian (Music) Culture

Archive for October 23rd, 2009

Vigyan Bhavan: The 55th National Film Awards winners felicitated

Posted by ElJay Arem (IMC OnAir) on October 23, 2009

Friday, October 23, 2009, 9:42 [IST]

By Raymond Ronamai

23-prathibha-patil-awards-2310It was an event to remember. President Pratibha Patil gave away the National Film Awards to the winners at the 55th National Film Awards ceremony (for 2007) at Vigyan Bhavan on Wednesday.

Aditya Chopra’s Chak De! India was named the best film for the year 2007 and Yash Chopra received the award on behalf of his son Aditya Chopra, while actor-producer Anil Kapoor was given the special jury award for his film Gandhi, My Father. Sonam Kapoor received the award on her father’s behalf. Director Feroz Abbas Khan received the Best Screenplay award and Darshan Zariwala got the Best Supporting Actor award for the same film.

Adoor Gopalakrishnan received the Best Director award for his Malayalam film Naalu Pennungal. Actor Prakash Raj received the Best Actor award for his performance in the Tamil film Kanchivaram while Kannada actress Umashree bagged the Best Actress award for her role in Gulabi Talkies. Shefali Shah got the Best Supporting Actress award for The Last Lear and Sharad Goekar bagged the Best Child Artist award for his role in the Marathi film Tingya.

Legendary playback singer Manna Dey was given a standing ovation when the President handed him the Dadasaheb Phalke award for entertaining music lovers for over five decades. Shankar Mahadevan received the Best Male Playback Singer award for the song “Maa” from Taare Zameen Par and lyricist Prasoon Joshi bagged the Best Lyricist award for the same song. The film also won the award for Best Film for Family Welfare.

Shreya Ghoshal was awarded the Best Female Playback Singer for the song “Ye ishq hai” from the film Jab We Met. She also sang the award winning song at the function. It is her third National award after Devdas and Paheli.

Shabnam Khan received the Best Choreography Award for the song “Ye ishq hai” on behalf of choreographer Saroj Khan. The event also witnessed Sabu Cyril receiving the award for Best Art Direction for the Shahrukh Khan’s film Om Shanti Om.

(Source: 23rd Oct 2009 (09:42 IST) – | Entertainment)

55th National film awards – part 1-5 (telugunewstoday)


Posted in Culture (news), News from India | Leave a Comment »

%d bloggers like this: